Hall of Honor


2001 Boys Soccer State Championship Team
The 2016 Athletic Hall of Honor induction was the 2001 MHSAA Division IV Boys State Soccer Championship team.  The 2001 team went 16-5-3 defeating Muskegon Western Michigan Christian 2-1 in the MHSAA Division 4 title game.  The team built an early 2-0 lead in the championship game on goals by Jeremy Atkins and Aaron Bauer that allowed them to hold on for the victory to give the Eagles their first soccer state title.  The 2001 season was the final season for 2008 hall of honor inductee, Coach Scott Berthel who won 139 games in 13 seasons roaming the Eagle sideline before walking off the field as a state champion in his final game.  At this past weekend’s halftime induction ceremony the team was represented on the field by team members Jeremy Atkins, Matt Coughenour and Brad Marshall.  Congratulations to the 2001 Boys State Championship Team on their hall of honor induction.

  • Josh Johnson
  • Aaron Bauer
  • Cory Giannola
  • Peter Fezzey
  • Jeremy Atkins
  • Mark Rudle
  • Randy Kupter
  • Nick Franciosi
  • Chris Morley
  • Kevin Smith
  • Matt Coughenour
  • Jeremy Kingma
  • Adam Bucy
  • Andrew Smith
  • Paul Tassi
  • Clay Shuman
  • Brad Marshall
  • Alec Borror
  • Iain Bryant
  • Casey Nagle
  • Brian Erdmann
  • John Frith
  • Chuba Arah, mgr
  • Coaches: Scott Berthel, Brian Atkins, Kurt Ruppenthal, Billy Marshall & Nathan Borsheim
Located in Southfield, Michigan, Southfield Christian School is a private Christian school educating young men and women in grades Preschool-12. Students benefit from a challenging, college-preparatory education grounded on the principles of the Bible, Southfield Christian School seeks to prepare young people to live full and productive lives.

A Ministry of Highland Park Baptist Church